Challenger Pro League - the former 1B - starts on 12 August


The Challenger Pro League kicks off on Friday 12 August with two games: Excelsior Virton - RWDM and Dender EH - Lommel SK. This was announced on Wednesday at the Pro League calendar reveal.

In the season 2022-2023, the former 1B competition will get a new face and thus a new name. As of this season, the new ‘Challenger Pro League’ will consist of twelve teams. To give our talented players every opportunity to grow, four under 23 teams will be competing in our second division: Club NXT (from Club Bruges), Jong Genk (from KRC Genk), SL 16 FC (from Standard de Liège) and RSCA Futures (from RSC Anderlecht). 

"A second division with a new momentum requires a new name. The 1B Pro League therefore becomes the Challenger Pro League," explains Lorin Parys, CEO of the Pro League. "It becomes the League that will challenge the established values of the Jupiler Pro League. The Challenger Pro League is all about intense competition and excitement, and the awakening of young talent at the highest level."

You can read more about the format of the Challenger Pro League in the 2022-2023 season here.

Newcomer Dender EH kicks off

The Challenger Pro League kicks off on Friday 12 August. RWDM narrowly missed out on promotion last season, and will be hunting for another chance starting with an away game at Excelsior Virton. At the same time, newcomer Dender EH hosts Lommel SK, who are a part of City Football Group.

The regular competition, which unlike the Jupiler Pro League continues during the World Cup in Qatar, ends after 22 match days during the weekend of 10 February 2022. On Monday 13 February 2022, the Pro League will announce the calendar for the play-offs. 

These will be played in two groups (promotion and relegation) and will start in the weekend of 24 February 2023. By Sunday 14 May 2023 - the final day of the Challenger Pro League playoffs - we will know the champions. 

Download the full calendar here:


Related articles